\nFormer West Ham boss Slaven Bilic has defended himself after co-owner David Sullivan criticised his...
\n Violence sparked between Real Madrid and Gremio fans at the Club World Cup final in Abu Dhabi with...
\nTroy Deeney completed a hat-trick of shame for Watford as his red card contributed to a Hornets mel...
\nGOAL WEST HAM - West Ham are away once again, as Lanzini splits the midfield, crossing it over to S...
\n BBC Radio 5 live\'s Alan Green has been forced to apologise for comments made about Rebekah Vardy ....
Read More

Man United dominate UEFA’s Europa League squad of the season

Date Posted,May 25, 2017

Manchester United’s Europa League victory has been recognised by UEFA, who have named eight of Jose Mourinho’s players in their squad of the season.

A deflected Paul Pogba strike and a goal from Henrikh Mkhitaryan gave the Red Devils a 2-0 win over Ajax in an emotionally-charged final at the Friends Arena in Stockholm on Wednesday evening.

The win means that the Premier League side have secured a place in the Champions League next season and means that Mourinho has won two trophies in this first season at Old Trafford.

Following the final, a group of UEFA technical observers that included former United boss Sir Alex Ferguson have selected an 18-man squad containing the top performers from the tournament as whole, with Manchester United players filling also half of the slots.

Injured Zlatan Ibrahimovic was named in the squad (Photo: Man Utd via Getty Images)

Sergio Romero was given the nod ahead of David De Gea in the tournament this year and his excellent performances meant his was included in this squad of the season, with defenders Eric Bailly, Daley Blind and Antonio Valencia also making the grade.

Midfielders Ander Herrea, Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan were joined by Zlatan Ibrahimovic up front.

Paul Pogba with The Europa League trophy
Pogba made the cut (Photo: UEFA via Getty Images)

Ferguson was joined by fellow UEFA technical observers Cristian Chivu, Stefan Majewski, Mixu Paatelainen, Ioan Lupescu and Dejan Stanković in Stockholm to select the 18-man squad.

Europa League squad of the season


Sergio Álvarez (Celta Vigo), Sergio Romero (Manchester United)


Eric Bailly (Manchester United), Gustavo Cabral (Celta de Vigo), Jérémy Morel (Lyon), Matthijs De Ligt (Ajax), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Antonio Valencia (Manchester United)

Video Loading

Video Unavailable
Click to playTap to play
The video will start in 8Cancel

Play now


Pablo Hernández (Celta Vigo), Ander Herrera (Manchester United), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht), Corentin Tolisso (Lyon, Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Manchester United), Amin Younes (Ajax)


Zlatan Ibrahimović (Manchester United), Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Bertrand Traoré (Ajax)

poll loading

How far will Manchester United go in the Champions League next season?


Back to previous page

payment with