\n Borussia Dortmund’s Michael Zorc is in line to become Arsenal \'s new sporting director. \nThe 55-...
\n Former Tottenham strker Mido believes Liverpool will struggle to keep hold of Mohamed Salah - beca...
\nManchester United striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic completed his comeback from injury last night when he ...
\nChris Coleman has taken Sunderland training - despite not yet being officially confirmed as the clu...
\n Paul Pogba delighted Manchester United fans with his return to action against Newcastle on Saturda...
Read More

Sent off Moses throws black armband in frustration as diving Chelsea star joins four others in FA Cup final hall of shame

Date Posted,May 26, 2017

Victor Moses threw his black armband in frustration after becoming the fifth player to be sent off in an FA Cup final.

The 26-year-old’s controversial actions come after Chelsea’s first half blunder when they “forgot” to wear the armbands in honour of the Manchester Arena attack victims.

Blues’ stars returned to the pitch in the second half wearing the armbands.

The Chelsea right-wing-back received a second yellow for simulation and was dismissed in the 68th minute.

Moses had been booked 11 minutes earlier after hacking down Danny Welbeck during an Arsenal break.

Moses takes a tumble (Photo: Action Images via Reuters)
Anthony Taylor sends off Moses (Photo: The FA Collection)
Moses hangs his head in shame (Photo: REUTERS)
Moses heads down the players’ tunnel (Photo: Rex Features)

It means the Nigerian joins Chris Smalling (2016), Pablo Zabaleta (2013), Jose Antonio Reyes (2005) and Kevin Moran (1985) as players who have been sent off in an FA Cup final.

The defender, however, is the only player to have been sent off in a final for diving.

The armband is no longer in Moses’s hand (Photo: BBC)

But Moses sparked further controversy after throwing away his black armband before heading down the players’ tunnel.

22 people died in the terrorist attack on Monday and a minute’s silence prior to the game was held in their honour.

Players sent off in FA Cup finals

Kevin Moran (1985)

Jose Antonio Reyes (2005)

Pablo Zabaleta (2013)

Chris Smalling (2016)

Victor Moses (2017)

Back to previous page

payment with